Los Fresnos News

Football, volleyball seasons begin in October

The pandemic has thrown a curveball for sports everywhere. In the Valley, that means a delay of about two months.

Los Fresnos High School athletic programs are scheduled to start in October, barring decisions about the spread of COVID-19 in Cameron County and the state. All schedules are subject to change. 

Volleyball
The volleyball season usually begins in mid-August with tournaments that give coaches an opportunity to see all players develop in preparation for district matches. Tournaments have been canceled. 

The Lady Falcons and all District 32-6A teams only have seven matches scheduled for the regular season – all in district play. The Los Fresnos varsity schedule is as follows:

  • Saturday, Oct. 24: San Benito at Los Fresnos, noon
  • Tuesday, Oct. 27: Los Fresnos at Donna North, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 31: Brownsville Rivera at Los Fresnos, noon
  • Tuesday, Nov. 3: Los Fresnos at Weslaco High, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 7: Harlingen High at Los Fresnos, noon
  • Tuesday, Nov. 10: Brownsville Hanna at Los Fresnos, 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, Nov. 14: Los Fresnos at Harlingen South, noon

The playoffs begin Nov. 23-24 with the bi-district round. The state tournament is scheduled Dec. 11-12. 

Football
The football season usually begins in late August. On the original schedule, the Falcons would have played their season opener Aug. 28. 

All non-conference games have been canceled. District 32-6A teams will play seven district games only. Times for all games have changed to 7 p.m.

  • Friday, Oct. 23: Brownsville Rivera at Los Fresnos
  • Friday, Oct. 30: Brownsville Hanna at Los Fresnos
  • Friday, Nov. 6: San Benito at Los Fresnos
  • Friday, Nov. 13: Los Fresnos at Harlingen South
  • Thursday, Nov. 19: Los Fresnos at Donna North
  • Friday, Nov. 27: Los Fresnos at Weslaco High
  • Friday, Dec. 4: Harlingen High at Los Fresnos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *