Los Fresnos News

Los Fresnos CISD Announces Campus Teacher of the Year Recipients

From L-R, Mr. Pablo Bazaldua, CFO; Ada Amaro, Deputy Superintendent for Student Services and Principal Support; Dr. Gonzalo Salazar, Superintendent of Schools, LFCISD; Jimmy McDonough, Superintendent for Operations and Principal Support; Dr. Jennifer Stumbaugh, Executive Director for Personnel Services and Talent Development; Valarie Londrie, Chief Academic Officer.

Los Fresnos CISD

Los Fresnos CISD announced the recipients of the 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year award during the annual luncheon held this year at the Brownsville Museum of Fine Arts.

Superintendent, Dr. Gonzalo Salazar speaks at the 2022-23 Annual Teacher of the Year Award luncheon. Photo from LFCISD.

One teacher from each of the District’s fifteen campuses was chosen by peers in a voting based system. The educator will now proudly represent their respective campus for one year. They will be divided into two pools of candidates that include elementary and secondary schools. One person from each pool will be chosen to represent that District at Region One based. They will be chosen by a committee based on essays written by their campus principal which will highlight their accomplishments and unique approach to service and excellence in the classroom.

The 2022-2023 Teacher of the Year Recipients are:
Teacher of the Year Recipients for Secondary Schools:
Luis Muniz, Los Fresnos High School
Eduardo Lugo, Jr, Los Fresnos United
Hubert Haylock, Alternative Education Center
Dorothy Coria, Los Cuates Middle School
Bernabe Alejandro, Liberty Memorial Middle School
Abigail Martinez, Resaca Middle School
Teacher of the Year Recipients for Elementary Schools:
Oralia Rivera, Dora Romero Elementary
Alma Moya, Laureles Elementary
Dr. Carolina Cowan, Los Fresnos Elementary
Michelle Rojas, Lopez-Riggins Elementary
Sarai Rodriguez, Las Yescas Elementary
Sandra Salazar, Palmer-Laakso Elementary
Maria R Ramos, Olmito Elementary
Nicole Gomez-Mendez, Rancho Verde Elementary
Melissa Leal, Villareal Elementary

LFCISD Teachers enjoy 2022-23 annual Teacher of the Year award luncheon held at the Brownsville Museum of Fine Arts