Los Fresnos Voters Elect Two New Commissioners

Manuel Abrego and his wife Irene were seen campaigning Tuesday Nov 6. Photos: Tony Vindell/LFN

by Tony Vindell/LFN

Los Fresnos voters have elected two new members to serve on the city council and a new trustee to the local school board in the Nov. 6 midterm election.

James Herrera ousted city councilman JavIer Mendez by 12 votes, or 716 to 702 votes, while Joe Collinsworth, who ran unopposed, received 1,160 votes, according to results posted by the Cameron County Elections’ Administrator office.

Herrera said he felt good about the result.

“That is a job I was seeking and we won,” he said. “I am ready to go to work.”

Collinsworth said he and Herrera would like to inject new ideas into the city.

In the school district areas:

Leticia “Letty” Quintero defeated Darlene Pederson, the incumbent in Place 7, by 3.690 to 3,202 votes.

Leonel Garza, retained his seat in Place 5 by getting 4,107 votes against 2,722 votes garnered by his opponent Juan Sierra.

Sandra Garcia, who ran unopposed in Place 4, got 5,636 votes.

In other races, Cameron County Judge Eddie Treviño Jr., a Democrat was challenged by Carlos Cascos, a Republican.

Filemon Vela, U.S. Rep., a Democrat with District 24, received 50,105 votes, while Rey Gonzalez, a Republican, obtained 26,572.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbot had two opponents – Lupe Valdez, a Democrat, and Mark Jay Tippetts, an lndependent.

U.S Senator Ted Cruz, who was seeking reelection, received 28,508 votes and challenger Beto O‘Rourke, a Democrat, got 48,656 votes. A third candidate, Neal M. Dikeman, got 567 votes.

But statewide, Cruz won the race getting 42,823 votes while O’Rourke received 29,032 votes.

Share This Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *